- Written by webmin
Photos courtesy Antique Motorcycle Foundation
The Antique Motorcycle Foundation‘s collection of vintage motorcycles has found a permanent location. Featured in two exhibits, which were on display at the AACA museum in Hershey, Pennsylvania, the first in 2008 as “Motorcycles 1884 – 1973″ and a second exhibit, “Fast From The Past,” in 2010, the collection was put together by Jerry and Ted Doering from their personal bikes and those on loan by other collectors. The majority of these collections have been housed in the AMF’s 85,000-square-foot building in Newburgh, New York, and the facility has recently been converted into the MotorcyclePedia Museum. It will be open to the public beginning next Saturday, April 16.
The museum will display more than 300 motorcycles, including over 100 Indians spanning the company’s history, 1901-1953. Choppers, police bikes, sidecars, trikes and military bikes will also be featured. Bikes on loan from aficionados Frank Westfall, Dennis Craig, Carl Fronk and many others complete the exhibit. The facility is located at 250 Lake Street in Newburgh, less than an hour from New York City, New Jersey, Connecticut and Pennsylvania. It would make a great place to take a riding club or group of riders for a day of motorcycling history. Or schedule an extra few hours on Rhinebeck weekend to drink in some really unique and rare bikes.
After the grand opening, the MotorcyclePedia Museum will be open Thursdays through Sundays from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., and group tours are available by appointment. Admission is only $10, and children under 12 are free. More information is available on the museum website www.motorcyclepediamuseums.com.